Vijayaloka Buddhist Retreat Centre

Vijayaloka, at Minto, just one hour from the centre of Sydney, is the retreat venue for the Sydney Buddhist Centre (SBC). The buildings stand on 3.7 hectares of largely pristine bushland on a sandstone escarpment above the upper reaches of the Georges River.

Since its purchase in 1994 Vijayaloka has provided supportive conditions for spiritual practice and growth for large numbers of practitioners. Cared for by the SBC sangha, the property provides a beautiful, peaceful, dedicated space for meditation, spiritual practice and community-building.

Vijayaloka is home to one of Sydney’s few remaining koala colonies and to wallabies, kangaroos, ring-tailed possums, various species of reptiles and a wonderful variety of birds.

Our address is: 
Vijayaloka Retreat Centre
36 Howard Road
Minto Heights NSW 2566

How do we set up the right conditions for sharing the Dharma? We will hear from experienced...

Fri 22 Feb 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 24 Feb 2019, 3:00pm

This retreat is a  full introduction to meditation practice, including help with meditation...

Fri 01 Mar 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 03 Mar 2019, 3:00pm

Meditation and mindfulness practice is conducive to our recovery from the addictions that hold...

Fri 15 Mar 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 17 Mar 2019, 3:00pm

Engage with the beautiful bushland at Vijayaloka, on the outskirts of Sydney. We will meditate...

Fri 29 Mar 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 31 Mar 2019, 3:00pm

A retreat for all mitras and order members.

Going Deeper

Fri 05 Apr 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 07 Apr 2019, 3:00pm

This retreat is a long weekend full introduction to meditation practice, including help with...

Fri 17 May 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 19 May 2019, 3:00pm

Engage with the beautiful bushland at Vijayaloka, on the outskirts of Sydney. We will meditate...

Fri 28 Jun 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 30 Jun 2019, 3:00pm

Join Order Members and mitras for a retreat exploring key aspects of Milarepa's life and his...

Fri 26 Jul 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 28 Jul 2019, 3:00pm

This retreat is a long weekend full introduction to meditation practice, including help with...

Fri 30 Aug 2019, 7:00pm - Sun 01 Sep 2019, 3:00pm

Vijayaloka Newsletter July 2018

A glorious winter weekend was the backdrop for the recent Working With Nature Weekend out at Vijayaloka. Between 25 and 30 of us spent the time together.  As we have found previously, these weekends attract lots of new people so we had a mix of introductory meditation and dharma activities focusing on the Four Reminders, as well as enjoying getting to know each other while engaging in activities each of us chose - for the benefit of others. Everyone had such fun!

A few photos capture a little bit of the inside and outside projects we tackled.

Where there is smoke...!...

Vijayaloka Newsletter

Dear Sangha Friends

On the last Friday in July several of us had a day out at Vijayaloka. Some of us attended a Vijayaloka team meeting and others spent the day working outside. Whether meeting or working we all enjoyed our time in the beautiful winter sunshine. A shared campfire lunch topped it off in Sydney sangha style!

In the Vijayaloka team, a high priority for discussion was developing a list of work options for the upcoming Working With Nature Retreat which is to be held this weekend on 14/15/16 August. This retreat looks set to be a wonderful opportunity to come...